top of page


The Giverny Award is an annual children's science picture book award established in 1998 by Dr. Jim Wandersee and Dr. Elisabeth E. Schussler who was at that time affiliated with the 15º Laboratory at Louisiana State University.

2023 Giverny Award Winner

The River that Wolves Moved: A True Tale from Yellowstone

by author Mary Kay Carson and illustrator David Hohn.

The book was published in 2022 by Sleeping Bear Press. 

Book cover of The River that Wolves Moved: A True Tale from Yellowstone. Features drawing of a hill with wolves sitting on top and below a river with fish swimming.
Giverny Award Sticker.png

The Giverny Award Criteria

  1. This singular annual award is bestowed to the author and to the illustrator of the chosen book.

  2. The book must be a children's science picture book written in the English language and published within five years of the award date. These books typically have ~ 32 pages and serve children between ages 4-8.

  3. The book must teach its young reader at least one important scientific principle well, or encourage the reader toward specific science-related attitudes, pursuits, or inquiries.

  4. The book's artwork, illustrations, photographs, or graphics must work in harmony with the text to tell an important story well. 

  5. The text must have a story with a plot and characters.

  6. All other factors being equal, books about plants and/or plant science or biology will have preference. However, books on geobiology topics are also considered and have been chosen.

  7. A book must be published in the English language to be eligible, but the award is international in scope.

For more information, contact Karlie Herndon, curator of the de Grummond Children's Literature Collection at 601.266.4086

bottom of page